× Home About Us Our Team Productions Contact

About us

Mission Statement

Punjabi Arts Association of Toronto is an independent, not-for-profit, volunteer-based organization that presents issues of relevance to the South Asian immigrant community through the performing arts. While we focus on the production of historically-themed plays and movies, the organization also hosts seminars and discussions. Our primary objective is to celebrate and explore South Asian culture, particularly in relationship to the Canadian mainstream. We are committed to creating awareness of the disastrous effect of drugs and violence on our youth and to explore issues that arise from generation gaps and family challenges.

Punjabi Arts Association of Toronto promotes positive values of the Punjabi and South East Asian cultures, and strives to explore their interaction with mainstream Canadian culture. Punjabi Arts Association supports other charitable organizations through stage plays, cultural shows and seminars that are held at cultural and fundraising events.


The dedicated performers of the Punjabi Arts Association have been serving their community since 1992. As our membership consists of volunteers, each of us must balance our commitment to the Association with family life and professional careers. The organization became registered as not-for-profit in 1999. We present issues that are current to the South Asian immigrant community, especially in relationship to the Canadian mainstream, through historically-themed stage plays, seminars and discussions.

Some of our past productions, such as Hind Dee Chader (1994), Chamkuar Dee Garhi Ton Sirhind Tak (1995), Aazadi De Jahaaz (2001) and Inqlaab Zindabaad (2002), were dedicated to martyrs of our culture. Richtian Da Kee Rakhiye Na (1997) dealt with the partitioning of Hind and Pak and the theme of Sab Kichh Hot Upaie (1999) was to encourage our audience and cast to become champions of justice in the true spirit of our martyrs.

Since 2000 our  plays focused on themes of family and immigration issues, violence stemming from drug abuse, Feamale foeticide, generation gap, domestic violence and other social challenges. Since 2000 we staged following plays like Pinjray (Cages) (2000), Hoai Pardesi (1996), Aatish (The Spark) (2003), Dhukhday Kleeray (2004), Mera Ghar Meri Kahani (2002), Ik Jung Eh Vee (2006), Raat Chanani (2007), Wrong Number (2008), RSVP (2009), Mr. MLA (2010), Sirjana (2010), Me & My Story (2011), Aahlna (The Nest). Ik Supne Da Political Murder (2013), Kadhan Rait Dian,( 2015-16), Gallan Terian (2018)

The cast of many of these productions featured youth performers, in the hope of inspiring young people to remain focused on achieving their dreams and to avoid drug addiction, violence and gang activity. Through our organization, we hope to mentor our youth to develop hidden talents and to build brighter futures for themselves, their community and society.

We believe that in order to build a bright future for Canadian society it is important to motivate our youth to reveal and develop leadership qualities. Our organization is helping to accomplish this goal by offering our younger members the opportunity to develop their skills and talents and to explore their own relationship with family, community and society.

Punjabi Arts Association worked with following Directors; Dr. Pali Bhupinder, Dr. Atamjit, Nirmal Rishi, Hardip Gill from India

Punjabi Arts association recogonised by The Ontarion Trillium Foundation, Punjabi Sath Lambra, Ramgarhia Sikh Society, Desh Bhagat Sports and Culture Society, Indo Canadian Workers Association, Gurbax Malhi M.P., Dr. Ruby Dhalla M.P., Vick Dhillon M.P.P., Dr. Kuldip Kular M.P., Avtar Kaur Aujla Counceller City of Brampton, Vicky Dhillon Counceller City of Brampton, Raminder Gill M.P.P., Baba Bhag Singh Girls College Sukha Nand, Parvasi award Toronto etc.

Our movie productions, Virsa (Heritage) was well received by our community. As true reflections of our culture, these productions offer meaningful and timeless messages about the importance of balancing tradition with the challenges of contemporary society.

Executive Committee members are as follows:

Kuldip Randhawa (President)
Baljinder Lailna (General Secretary/GM)
Harbhajan Flora (Vice President)
Hareet Kaur Aujla (Treasure)
Gurcharan Singh (Director)
Janak Joshi (Director)
Sarabjeet Singh Arora (Director)
Taranjit K Sandhu (Director)
Tejinder Bedi (Director)


Jagpal Chahal, Neetu Sandhu, Harminder Grewal, Jagwinder Judge, Preet Sangha, Harpreet Sangha, Anumeet Sangha, Poonam taggar, Sumeet Singh, Preet Inder Gill, Nishma Sangha, Mandeep Singh, Mandeep Viraich, Jasleen,Parvinder Thethi,  Simrat Dhillon etc.